Have A Dream

Home » Random » It’s Our Darkness That Defines The Light.

It’s Our Darkness That Defines The Light.

As I am writing this post, I am staying in a hotel where I will be putting up for the next few days. Outside is raining heavily. It is pouring non-stop and at the worst possible time – during the evening rush hour.

The roads are flooded causing traffic to crawl and inch on the roads. The wind is so strong that it’s turning umbrellas inside out. I suppose many people would be stuck at their workplace as it is futile to hit the jammed roads at this moment.

For the first time in a very long time, I find myself thinking deeply and feeling a little nostalgic. But certainly not nostalgic enough to make me want to change things, my plans or my life in any way.

Well, don’t you agree we often detest a bore droning on about “the good old days” once in a while? Possibly, the implication is the past is always better than the present. Or the way things were done before were better than the way things are done today.

I believe all of us had been touched by nostalgia – which can also be pleasurable and fun. But, nostalgia can also grip your heart and mess with your head. And only if you let it whisper, it can whisper in your ear and make you yearn for yesterday and trigger our painful emotions as well.

Worst than that it can direct our train of thoughts at the wrong directions. However, under the right conditions, the finest trigger could probably unleash a flood of sunny memories in even the least sentimental among us.

The point is why should we not focus on the positivity of such experiences, rather than having to feel bad because it had happened?

I reckon, where we come from is certainly important. As it help shape and mould us into the people we eventually become. But don’t you think, sometimes we have to bid farewell to these places or events that had occured in our lives and move on? More so, if we want to move towards the life we want for ourselves.

From hindsight, as a child I followed my late father’s relocation every now and then. Then, when it was my turn I too had my fair share of relocations. And much later it was extensive traveling to all over the country as well as to different parts of the globe.

Some say, “Home is where the heart is.” To a great extent, that is very true. Indeed, a home is not where you live but where they understand you – a house is not a home. A home is built on the foundations of Love, Understanding, Concern and so forth. I believe where we love is our home and I reckon all of us carry our homes within us.

As with all life, not all of it is pretty or easy, but the best lessons I learnt came hard fought. Looking back at those hard knocks coupled with those dark, challenging, difficult and tough times that I went through admittedly had allowed for the bright times to shine because it is our darkness that defines the light.

Well, I firmly believe the changes in our lives are not going to stop. Things are going to be no settling down. Things are going to be in a constant state of upheaval. Change is what is and there is no way to change that …….. Perhaps, what could possibly be changed is the way we deal with change, and the way we are changed by change.

Please share your thoughts with us...

