Have A Dream

Home » Random » To Be Content Is A Choice.

To Be Content Is A Choice.

“The world is full of people
looking for spectacular happiness
while they snub contentment.”

I am a goal-oriented person and is always focus on achieving a goal, be it running a marathon, participating in a big walk, improving my blog, keeping myself fit and healthy or one of my other goals.

Perhaps, you may perceive me as someone who is not content with my life? The truth is, “I am not.” Frankly, I am extremely content with my life, with what I have and with who I am. On the other hand, I accept that I am one who will keep striving for my goals.

As humans, we will continue trying to improve, no matter how happy we are. Otherwise, if we don’t, we would have given up on life. Don’t you think so? I am the the type who accept challenges and one who would not accept “no” for an answer. I am content with being that type of person – being content with what I have.

A problem most of us face is we spend much of our life pursuing things that the world tells us are important. Say wealth, prestige and power. Then, when we are there, we suddenly realize that we have to embrace the many extras that follows.

I believe a contented mind enhances our ability to think clearly, make choices and tolerate things that are usually upsetting. It allows us to endure, bounce back, make due, stand tall and keep trying to achieve what our heart desires. Thus, contentment is a peaceful state of mind.

Contentment is not the fulfillment of what we want, but the realization of  how much we already have. You see, if one is content, he or she will realize that they already have enough to live comfortably.

I believe a mind that is filled with peace create a heart filled with contentment. So be happy with what you have and not what you don’t have. By the way, do you know how to be happy? And are you waiting for happiness to find you?

Be mindful, happiness doesn’t appear by magic. It is not even something that happens to you. Instead, to be happy is something all of us can cultivate. When we are content we are in a stable state of mind – where they are relatively few emotions to drive us into any particular action.

However, the problem with contentment is that we tend not to stay there for long because to get into contentment requires us releasing all tensions which stop us from being contented.

True happiness lies within each and every one of us. So waste no time and effort searching for peace, contentment and joy in the world outside. There is no happiness in having or in getting, but only in giving. So reach out. Share. Smile. Hug……. and so forth.

As I conclude this post, I wish to leave with a quote from Benjamin Franklin, “Content makes poor men rich; discontent makes rich men poor.” With the Grace of God and these wise words always in my mind, I am always happy to remain as I am – very contented.

4 Comments

  1. Mathurini says:

    Hey, I liked this post, if you have a moment check this one out that I wrote, I have a feeling you might relate to it. http://mathurini.wordpress.com/2010/10/18/thoughts/

  2. D.H. Lester says:

    Michael,
    I love your openness, enthusiasm and optimism. I look forward to reading more of your journey as your D.R.E.A.M. into the future.
    DLester @tractionstrategies.com

  3. John Northcutt Young says:

    This post brings to mind a quote from John in Philippians 4:11: “…I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content.”

  4. bintanghoward says:

    We need more people to think like you, Michael.
    Keep on spreading the positive attitude 🙂

Please share your thoughts with us...

