Have A Dream

Home » Self-Help » S.A.D. – We’ve All Been There.

S.A.D. – We’ve All Been There.

Yesterday I grumbled a lot. It started since I got out of bed in the morning. And, I wasn’t sure what caused me to go through this S.A.D. – seasonal affective disorder, again.

Most probably, the grumbling bug inside me must be bugging non-stop and that probably irked Burt. So much so, once he had enough of it, Burt took me out for a coffee.

“Have you heard of the story of two gardeners?” he asked.

“No.” I replied.

“One day during the last rainy season, Simon, a gardener, shouted in joy; “How wonderful it is for watering my plants.”

While Joe, the gardener living next door to him responded unhappily; “Yes. But, if it keeps raining like this, don’t you think the roots will rot?”

“Later, when the sun comes out in full force the next morning, the ever grateful Simon again exclaimed in joy; “Look, how wonderful, my plants are getting all the vitamins and minerals they need today. I will be having a great harvest very soon.”

But, the ever gloomy Joe responded with, “Yeah, but if it’s going to stay that way, don’t you think it will scorch our plants? And, we’ll have nothing to harvest.”

Burt then stopped his story and looked at me. Imagine I was surprise and delight after what Burt had just shared with me. While, he started to sip his favorite large cappuccino. And knowing Burt well, from his body language, he seem to be asking if I had seen his point?

“Well, we’ve all been there, right, Burt? I responded.”

“This probably happens more than we realize. I know very well, I happen to be very much the same as Joe today. Thanks for the drink and sharing the wonderful story with me.

Burt looked pleased with the way I responded and by the time we finished our drinks, this seasonal affective disorder inside me had vanished.

Please share your thoughts with us...

