Have A Dream

Home » Random » I Am Most Richly Blessed.

I Am Most Richly Blessed.

As I was hurrying towards my car after having picked up some groceries yesterday morning, I noticed an elderly couple walking with a young girl in the opposite direction. They were walking very slowly with the young girl who have all the signs of Down Syndrome.

I went towards them and greeted the elderly couple. Then, I gestured a ‘peace’ sign at the young girl. She looked at me and gave me a smile. I smiled back and after a while, very slowly she waved at me as I got into my car.

She smiled again and by then my heart melted. But in the light of her disabilities, I had to wonder whether any of my words, wishes, expressions would be meaningful to her. But her smile had lifted my morning and I was no longer hurrying to get home ………………….

Sometimes I wonder when things go so wrong
Has God forsaken and left me alone?
Then I remember through trails and distress
He is always with me,
I am most richly blessed.

I asked God for strength, that I might achieve,
I was made weak, that I might have to learn humbly to obey,
I asked for health, that I might do greater things,
I was given infirmity, that I might do better things,
I asked for riches, that I might be happy,
I was given poverty, that I might be wise.

I asked for power, that I might have the praise of men,
I was given weakness, that I might feel the need for God.
I asked for all things, that I might enjoy life,
I got nothing that I asked for – but everything
that I hoped for, and almost despite myself,
my unspoken prayers were answered.
He is always with me,
I am most richly blessed.

I reckon many of us are too bogged down with daily affairs to appreciate  the little things in life. Especially when things go so tough and moving so fast, very often we tend to lose sight of the bigger picture. As a matter of fact, we should not allow our daily pressure and distraction get in our way whenever possible and instead, try to reach that place in our hearts where we keep sufficient emotions and energy for those we care and love.

2 Comments

  1. i’m glad that there are still humans like you who actually cared enough to worry whether your efforts had meaning for someone else. to be honest i would be upset if you only talked about how thankful you are that you’re not like the down syndrome kid. yes, we have to be thankful for everything we have and yes, i know that your kindness had meaning not only to the kid, but for everyone else who was there and saw it, and for everyone who reads this entry. very heartwarming. thank you for the post!

  2. Michael says:

    First and foremost thanks for your valued comment.

    For your information I am in my 60s and to say at that age I am without any constraints, I am being dishonest with your goodself. But, I have learned long ago to accept anything that comes along with that age. And I belong to the more emphatic group.

    Thank You for visiting “Have A Dream.”

Please share your thoughts with us...

