Have A Dream

Home » Random » Do You Enjoy Being Alone?

Do You Enjoy Being Alone?

I am all alone in my home. Like most mornings in my neighborhood (except for the siren blasting from a malfunctioning home security system somewhere) this is an extremely quiet and peaceful morning.

Having attended to my routine tasks, I am about to enjoy my pot of freshly brewed lavender tea. While pondering on what I should be posting this morning, my ears are wide open, listening to Sir Elton John’s “Sorry Seems To Be The Hardest Word” from a CD I brought a few weeks back, titled; “Jazz Audiophile Voices.”

Some say jazz is like an elderly person taking his or her time to relate a story and expressing his or her regrets over what had happened at one point in his or her life. So I am now completely relaxed and is enjoying Linda Gray delivering the story …………… with her soft, sweet, silky, gentle, jazzy and audiophile voice.

“………….. It’s sad, so sad
It’s a sad, sad situation
And it’s getting more and more absurd
It’s sad, so sad
Why can’t we talk it over
Oh it seems to me
That sorry seems to be the hardest word

…….. What have I got to do to be heard
What do I do when lightning strikes me
What have I got to do
What have I got to do
When sorry seems to be the hardest word.”

Do you have an ego? I reckon most of us have one. But, many people have an ego that is much bigger than their body. And if you do have one that big, please get rid of it ……………………….

Oh, you’ve got to excuse me now, my phone is ringing. Oh, I’ve Johnny on the line.

Me: “Hello?”
Johnny: “Hi Michael, it’s me, Johnny, England.”
Me: “Hi, How are you?”
Johnny: “Great. What’re you doing right now?”
Me: “I’m all alone at home.”
Johnny: “Alone …….?”
Me: “Well, I always enjoy being alone.”
(There was no immediate response from Johnny)
Me: “Johnny, are you still on the line?’
Johnny: “Er ………. Yes.”
Me: “I mean, I enjoy being A.L.O.N.E. – Adored, Loved and Obviously Needed by Everyone.”

Well, the weekend is around and it’s time to relax a little and get cool. Have a great weekend. And just before I conclude this post, if I may ask; “Do you enjoy being A.L.O.N.E., now?”

10 Comments

  1. Lovely post. I do enjoy my quiet time watching the squirrels and listening to
    fall in the rustle of the leaves…God bless!

  2. I love my quiet moments. I don’t get many of them so when I do Its wonderful feeling. Godo post btw. God Bless. 🙂

  3. Sometimes yes i do need my own time, but among some mates is also fun. 🙂

  4. I love that A.L.O.N.E acronym, I’m so using that 😉

  5. jack downing says:

    A very touching post Michael…Oh and say hi to Johnny for us.

  6. Wayne Augden says:

    Michael, what a nice post! Yes, I do enjoy being A.L.O.N.E. 🙂

  7. I feel guilty saying it, but I do love feeling A.L.O.N.E. Sometimes to reach that state of feeling A.L.O.N.E., you need to spend the time alone. A times, that’s the only way people realize they NEED you. That’s okay. Great post. Can’t wait to read more.

  8. Old Jules says:

    Morning Michael: I’d hate to try living any other way than alone, seriously alone, long periods of seeing nobody but cats and chickens. I don’t know how I ever managed to get by living any other way. Nice post. Thanks. Jules

  9. jeffssong says:

    So many people confuse “being alone” with “lonely” – and often need their friends and family to fill their head with chatter – just so they don’t feel both alone AND lonely . . .
    The trick is, of course, learning to be alone without being lonely (something me and my alters did a long time ago). And if you can feel “Adored, Loved and Obviously Needed by Everyone.” – then all the better. Especially when you can do it for yourself (again, a DID sort of thing – but I guess it applies to everyone).
    Alone: not such a bad condition to be – especially if you are not lonely – and feeling all those things you say.

  10. CityMama says:

    I enjoyed this post. Your acronym for “alone” was great.

Please share your thoughts with us...

