Have A Dream

Home » Issues » Make Up Not Break-Up.

Make Up Not Break-Up.

‘In the arithmetic of love, one plus one equals everything and two minus one equals nothing.”
~
Mignon McLaughlin.

A break-up is a sign that something is not in the way it should be. Most of us feel it is a difficult thing to do. But, from another perspective, breaking-up could be a healthy signal notifying us it’s time to re-look at the entire relationship seriously. Whether it is really worth investing more, or if God may be calling us to let go?

All of us know it is easy for all us to fall in love. But, very few people know how to stay in love. Basically, a relationship that works is not one which we have to try to be or being someone we are not. In short, we have to be loved as who we are.

The world tells us that true love is about sensual desire, personal fulfillment and living happily ever after. But God tells us that true love will take us through life when all else fails us.

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boasts, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails. (Corinthians 13:4-8)

Be mindful, we are the common denominator in all our relationship problems as well. Take a good look at where you are today, or you could possibly end up duplicating your relationship problems in your future relationships again. Now, back to where I begin this post, if a break-up is difficult to do. Then, most break-ups should be saved or revived if that is what we really want. Start doing what works, this time doing it smarter …………………………… and not anchoring on what seems to be fair and right.

“Seek first to understand, then to be understood.”
~ Steven Covey.


16 Comments

  1. Michael you are a sensitive man, with insight into many avenues thank you for sharing them with us.

  2. demonsking19 says:

    i really liked the quotation,
    nice post

  3. Thanks for stopping by at my blog. I wish I could write as eloquently as you. I will read some more of your posts later.

  4. Well said… I think having common goals/values can also help propel a relationship..

  5. Great point about God calling you to let go. Not all people can hear God’s voice. Sometimes it can be the devil trying to destroy your happiness. Continue to meditate on His word and he will guide you into the direction of where you need to be. In the past everytime an issue came up that I could not deal with I wanted to leave but I was young and I didn’t know what I wanted back then. Thank God that I do now! Awesome post!

  6. Well said, “All of us know it is easy for all us to fall in love. But, very few people know how to stay in love.” I agree, as love and relationships are real work. I think what many people don’t understand is that agape love is really a “choice” and not a feeling.

  7. Miss Molly says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and liking my post “Losing my keys… Losing my mind…” – so many times I wonder what it is about a post that people like over other posts that I feel are so much better… Your post (here… Make-up not break-up”) actually hit a good chord for me. I am in the process of getting a divorce and in so many ways it has been so difficult but in the process I realized how happy I am now versus when I thought I was with “the one”… I know now that I am with “the one” and the other “one” must have been my starter husband. Wish I had enough courage to write about the process, I only give little snippets here and there but try to be very careful not to malign the “former one” in public. I am the one who chose to end it after 20 years of honoring my vows and trying to keep it together no matter how bad I got hurt. What a difference a life makes… thanks again for your thoughtful and inspiring posts.

    • Good for you. I think the courage to let go after 20 years is tremendous. I can’t connect to the relationship break, but I do have a bad habit of putting myself last. The end product we experience is the same – unhappiness. Good luck.

  8. April says:

    Awesome post! Thank you for visiting my site. I will be following your blog and suggesting it to others as well.

  9. thepoolman says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. Keep up the good work. I’ll be back.

  10. ghostandlamb says:

    thank you for liking my blog post!🙂

  11. ‘All of us know it is easy for all us to fall in love. But, very few people know how to stay in love. Basically, a relationship that works is not one which we have to try to be or being someone we are not. In short, we have to be loved as who we are.’
    Goodness, these words ring so true to me. I was first married for 26 years and never felt good enough just as me and always tried to be who ‘he’ wanted me to be. Now I am married again and feel totally accepted and loved for who I am. I think that is so very important. Beautifully written, and to the point. Just wonder … are you married?

    • Michael says:

      I was at one point in my life. Now, I no longer am. Thanks for contributing your valued views. Warmest Wishes. !!!

    • Miss Molly says:

      I don’t know why we do “that” – try to be what others want us to be. Like you I am with someone who totally accepts me and loves me for who I am. I never had that before. I loved unconditionally but was not loved the same in return. Now I am. Great feeling isn’t it?

  12. Michael, it’s as if you knew what I’m going through right now exactly. Thank you so much for this post my friend. Your words have helped me with a difficult decision I need to make very soon in my life.🙂

Please share your thoughts with us...

