Have A Dream

Home » Issues » Where Is The ……….?

Where Is The ……….?

Robert, an ex-colleague cum very close friend called yesterday. It wasn’t really a surprise for me because he used to call once in a while to make sure I am okay. As usual, we had a long conversation – in between Robert updated me with the latest information about some of our dear friends. He spoke about his plans for 2012.

And reminded me a story I shared with him years ago. It was about three young men who entered the same university after their studies. Tony wanted to follow his father’s footstep. Thus, he studied Accountancy. Gilbert did IT and Duncan studied Business Management to fulfill his Daddy’s wish. Upon graduation, the three of them went separate ways to pursue their careers.

One evening they decide to gather for a few drinks. At that get-together, Tony kept telling the two how important he was as Financial Controller in his Company. Gilbert disputed and said with all the information he have as Chief Information Officer, he is the most important among the two. He believe he chart and drives his Company’s future. Duncan, a Director of Sales in an established organisation, instead claimed he was the most important because he was accountable for generating revenue for the organisation and that was exactly what every business cannot do without.

The argument grew more intense and occupied their entire evening. When they finally decide to call it a night, the three of them were still arguing on their way out. Then, they saw God and decide to approach and ask Him, who is the most important of the three?

Each of them took their turn to argue eloquently their claim for holding the most important position in their respective organisations. God listened carefully and when they were done, God said;

“Look, I can’t settle your dispute. I’m sorry.”

Duncan was disappointed while the two were stunned by the response. After a while, Duncan answered,

“What do you mean you can’t settle it? You’re God.”

“That’s the problem,” God answered.

“I don’t see a Financial Controller, a Chief Information Officer or a Director of Sales. All I see are three human beings.”

In hindsight, there used to be a time when the well-educated person could know all that was academically known. Today is a very different world. We read many things today. Perhaps, too much non-essential stuff. While there are some, who do not spend enough time reading because television and the visual age of images have taken over their full attention. If I may ask, are we not drown in a sea of often useless information, ……………………………… and are no wiser for it?

Where is the Life we have lost in living?
Where is the wisdom we have lost in knowledge?
Where is the knowledge we have lost in information?
~ TS Elliot.


20 Comments

  1. Very profound, thank you for sharing

  2. M. Romeo says:

    An wonderful illustration. Thank you.

  3. Steven Sarff says:

    Very good thoughts. We brought nothing in and will take nothing out, our fellow mankind are more important than our titles.

  4. Wow totally loved this. It’s all about perspective in the end. Thanks for sharing Michael.πŸ™‚

  5. Sala says:

    Right on time, MIchael. Thank you.

  6. Jeannie says:

    I love the T.S. Elliot quote–what you write is so true. Awesome post!

  7. Roxi says:

    What a beautiful story!πŸ™‚ we get too caught up in our roles, we live with them day after day, years, and then, believe that we are them…
    And I absolutely love the Adams’ quote!πŸ™‚

  8. April says:

    Thank you for sharing! We do spend too much in front of the television getting unnecessary info where we could be reading. I have already made it my goal to read more this new year.
    Have you heard of the author Andy Andrews. If not, check him out. You will like his book The Noticer, The Traveler’s Gift and The Heartmender to name a few. He also has a small book he wrote on the Butterfly Effect.
    Have a great week.

  9. dM Buteau says:

    Very interesting! Very profound! And all so true! Loved it!

  10. Loved what God said … yep .. at end of day that’s all we are … humans .. doesn’t matter what title we have does it? A friend of mine used to say that when we made plans you could hear God laughing because he knows what he has planned for us … always makes me realise just how tiny we all are in the great scheme of everything…

  11. Wayne Augden says:

    Micheal, this is an excellent post. I wonder how diffferent the world would be if there were no t.v.? Or even if the focus of the media changed?

  12. iamforchange says:

    Excellent post and I must say your ending to me is on the mark… No wiser for it…! All that information and no wisdom gained!

  13. J.C.V. says:

    I love this. I think people needed to be reminded how all us are humans with dreams.

  14. Fons Amoris says:

    This is absolutely true. All throughout time people have had trouble believing that one person was no better than the other, and today’s world has only made such a trouble an epidemic – and far more potent. What I loved most about this post was that God was brought into it. For me, it gave it more meaning and helped me both grasp and remember the point you were making.
    I really enjoyed this, and am about to begin working my way through your older posts. I feel what you write is worth reading and I don’t want to miss a word.πŸ™‚

  15. L'Tanya says:

    So true. I remember taking a workshop once where the facilitator asked that we describe ourselves without saying anything about what we do.

  16. olletron says:

    This is true, and what a lovely story. I love T.S. EliotπŸ˜€ He’s my favourite poet, right up there with Larkin and Plath. There’s only one ‘L’ in ‘Eliot’ :> It’s a pet hate of mine ahah~ Thanks for sharing this wonderful postπŸ˜€

  17. willofheart says:

    very interesting thoughts and angle, absolutely true…

  18. Wa Makeri says:

    Hi Michael! Thanks for stopping by my blog. I’m loving yours so in the words of the Terminator, I’LL BE BACK!πŸ™‚

Please share your thoughts with us...

