Have A Dream

Home » Issues » Are You Growing Old Inside?

Are You Growing Old Inside?

I believe what goes on inside our mind has as much to do with our lifespan. The will to keep living our own way and a sense of purpose are what gets us out of bed every morning. Money doesn’t always do it and family doesn’t always do it either.

So what keeps us moving forward and gives our lives meaning is purpose. All of us need purpose. It could be something noble, difficult or possibly something much bigger than ourselves. Something that pushes our limits. That test us and ultimately make us a better being.

What are the things you always wanted to do? Sometimes it can be the things you feel called to do? Or the things that could impact a positive difference in you and those you cared for.

To me, it is our healthy inspirational discontent inside us that matters most. It doesn’t matter if your purpose aligns with the goals, dreams or wishes  of others. Your purpose is your purpose. You have to listen and serve that voice inside you. And there is no need to worry about what others think or make of you.

Purpose defines the vast empty space of our lives. It lends shape and color to our days and a driving force. It is an activity that we will overcome all obstacles to do it. And propels us to move confidently and proudly in the direction of our choice.

However, you can deny the need for purpose in your own life but, something else will fill that vast empty space of your life. I mean; rage, denial and possibly the sad conviction that this is all there is – you have outlived your usefulness and the rest of the days are just merely an exercise in not dying,

What you say to yourself does matter. What we say to ourselves can make the difference between us living small or walking tall. The images we hold in our mind not only influence how we feel but will also what happen next in our real world. Your point of view can change the most drastic circumstances into the most powerful of positive experience. So if the things you have always wanted are held back from you, please don’t fix the blame on others because it have everything to do with your attitude and altitude.


27 Comments

  1. Very articulate and well said, I think it’s so important to always continue to grow and find new “purpose” to one’s life:)

  2. Damon C Dennis says:

    Maybe it is because I am still young, but the part you said about the rest of our days are an exercise in not dying really hits home, it makes me want to never retire.

  3. I have been very driven all of my life. I resently made a decision not to fill the vast empty space in my life. It has been a profound transformation for me and so simple. I know it seems like I am saying the opposit of what you have posted, but I’m not. I’ve simply expanded my “purpose” by opening myself to possibility, instead of foucusing on a narrow path . . . I could go on and on.🙂
    I love how you make your readers, including me, think.

  4. Awesome post as always Michael. Very intuitive and true to how we view ourselves in the light of how we mature as we grow. It’s amazing the level of immaturity that still remains in some people no matter what age. We have to learn to put childish things aside and reach out to grow in maturity and strength. Purpose is derived by level of maturity. Immaturity keeps us away from purpose.

  5. I enjoyed reading this today!

  6. Very well done, Michael.
    From a humorous perspective, the thing that gets me out of bed in the morning.. is my prostate…lol

  7. willofheart says:

    absolutely inspiring and motivating post, and I agree on it….

  8. We need to close our mind from the present and go to the past and live our life in true sense in order to stop the artificial life of the today.

  9. zeezulu says:

    Very well said, Michael! I truly enjoyed reading your thoughts🙂

  10. bibuji says:

    it have everything to do with your attitude and altitude – I liked this saying of yours very much, thanks!

  11. Visionkeeper says:

    So right on Michael…It’s interesting, it is the main drive for living our lives yet purpose is so commonly not found by people, they search their whole lives. Some disconnect must have occurred way back when in humanitiy’s evolution that blacked out our understanding of finding purpose…It really is a tough one for a good portion of the people out there. That needs to be changed somehow…Thanks!
    VK

  12. Bella Luna says:

    Well said!

  13. I find when I’m working on what drives me…my passions…I am the most focused, content, happy, and enthusiastic.

  14. God is Good says:

    And when we discover our God given purpose and step into it … then life really starts to resonate because God is Good.

    • 237blessed says:

      🙂 I’m so glad you made this comment, it summarizes my view as well. Without the Lord nothing we do can truly prosper. What we do with the Lord’s help has an impact into eternity.

  15. rumpydog says:

    Yay! I’m glad your blog is not linked to your gravatar! I’ve tried to find your blog before and couldn’t. Now I’m so glad I have.

  16. Thank you for visiting my blog and commenting on my post. You have a very thoughtful outlook. Keep growing, and I don’t mean older🙂

  17. Hi there! I’m passing through to let you know that i’ve selected you for the Versatile Blogger Award. You can find out about why I selected you and what you need to do in my link below.

    http://nocturnefirefay.wordpress.com/2011/12/16/1973/

    Congratulations!

  18. This is so TRUE! I have always longed to paint, but held off trying thinking I didn’t have any talent! Finally, at age 73 I decided that talent wasn’t important–I just wanted to have fun!

    Now I am 78, and watercolor painting and mixed media collages are a great joy in my life. Getting up each day is exciting because I know something will “happen” on my work table! What joy! 🙂

  19. freespirit2 says:

    An inspiring read and words to take into perspective. So often we fall off the path of our purpose until someone reaches out and brings us back in. Thanks for posting. Tammy

  20. You’re very wise, obviously. You write so well too. You’re going to be a pleasure to read.

  21. Jeannie says:

    I especially like what you say in this post because it hits home with me. This past year has been an especially trying on all levels and sometimes it seems easier to just give in to the ‘dark side’ than to fight it every day. On the other hand…when we persevere in the face of adversity and keep ourselves centered and rely on inner peace to see us through…that is a battle well fought. And a triumph for the day will see us through to the next…and the next…and there you go🙂 Good post!

  22. olletron says:

    Pure wisdom, as always, Michael :>

  23. Absolutely agree. What goes on inside has everything to do with how well we feel, how healthy we are, how successful we are, how fulfilling our relationships are. Because if we are unhappy, we’ll sabotage the best of all these things.

    Good Post, Michael.

  24. Michael,

    I loved your recipes for LOVE and I surely enjoyed this post! Yes!!! I “use to” be growing old inside…. acutally VERY OLD…. it was the things of life.. my family…my OLD friends… my OLD job…. it was crazy!!! Now that I have re -evaluated my surroundings… I am feeling as YOUNG as a chick – a – dee bird who just hatched!!

    We have to control our happiness… the things that we cannot control give it to God… but other than that.. shame on US.. for allowing negative things to go on for sooo LONG!

    NO MORE!! #gamover

    Thank you for your yet inspiring post!

    V.D. Coleman

  25. Very inspirational, Michael. I really needed to read your message today.

Please share your thoughts with us...

