Have A Dream

Home » Issues » God Is Always Good …………..

God Is Always Good …………..

True spirituality manifest itself in certain dominant desires.

  1. First is the desire to be holy rather than be happy.
  2. A man may be considered spiritual when he wants to see the honor of God advanced through his life even if it means that he himself must suffer temporary dishonor or loss.               
  3. The spiritual man wants to carry his cross.
  4. Again, a Christian is spiritual when he sees everything in God’s viewpoint.
  5. Another desire of the spiritual man is to die right rather than to live wrong. 
  6. The desire to see others advance at his expanse.           
  7. The spiritual man habitually makes eternity-judgments rather than time-judgments.                                                                             ~ A. W. Tozer.

Together with five others I had lunch with some senior at a Home today. The seniors, seventeen of them are between sixty five to eighty years of age. All are very healthy, happy and independent.                    

During the three hours I had exchanging views and actively listening to them, I am fully convinced that a strong spiritual belief imbues these seniors with hope and peace – keeps them optimistic, help relieve stress, prevent depression, give them a sense of meaning in their lives and last but not least, the deaths of those they care about are part of a greater plan. 

All of us  left with the impression they are more at peace, contented and right to live one day at a time, in the present. If you are in search of a better, longer, happier and healthier or meaningful life, perhaps it might be smart to practice spiritual wellness – “God is always good ………………… for our body.”

21 Comments

  1. Jane Thorne says:

    What is, is, right here, right now all is as it is meant to be – peace and happiness comes from acceptance of that – thanks Michael x

  2. I Love this post Michael. A. Tozer is one of my favourites. The expanse of true wisdom is duly noted not in age but by how we have lived as we age. True joy is divine so living in God is the only way to experience that level of joy. Thanks for this post. I really enjoyed it 🙂

  3. Michael says:

    Thanks for the kind comments ladies.

  4. Beautiful post Michael, the name fits it! God Bless 🙂

  5. Hi Michael,

    Spirituality is a belief and a way of life. It really has nothing to do with religious “Dos and Don’ts”. Your encounter with this lovely group only reinforces this.

    Cheers

    Shakti

  6. iamforchange says:

    Great post and thank you for inspirational thoughts and your being the change positive!

  7. Michael says:

    Thanks for the kind comments again – encouragement and advice. The experience I had was great. I am looking for more whenever I can !!!

  8. willofheart says:

    Hi! Good day! I love this post, inspiring and very true… truly God is always good…. God Bless you…. 🙂

    • Michael says:

      Hi, Thank You. It is more blessed to give than to receive. Any person of faith knows, it is not only our words that reflect our beliefs, but our actions. When we give of ourselves, living with purpose, without thoughts of personal gain, we are touching the best of ourselves – the more we give, the more we receive. God Bless. !!!

  9. Rivka David says:

    Totally agree, God is always good. Also i think there is research to support the idea that people of faith live longer! – R

    • Michael says:

      Welcome to “Have A Dream” Rivka and thanks for commenting. I think there must be a research on what you have just mentioned. Meanwhile, I look forward to welcoming back in the not too distant future.

  10. Mike Fisk says:

    Great Post. God IS good. All the time. We just have a hard time accepting that since he sees the outcome he knows best. Be Blessed!
    Mike

  11. bibuji says:

    Most of us don’t have a definitive God ( with upper case G) in Japan, but do believe someone holy and merciful, too. I also believe I could find someone in one day. Maybe it will be just at the end of my life if I would live it with all my effort.

  12. Lovely. I agree whole-heartedly. Thanks for the post.

  13. Wayne Augden says:

    Michael, this is a great post. Thank you for sharing this.

  14. rosaanna73 says:

    I completely agree with you Michael. Who experienced spirituality in his life, knows very well how true are your words! There was a time in which I was a strong believer (in my early youth) and now that my daughter is going to take her First Communion, I re-found my spirituality and I thank God for this. I feel great! 🙂

    • Michael says:

      Thank You Rosaanna for adding credibility to my post. My visit to the Home was to spend some time with the inmates and accompany them for lunch. But, I received more in return. Thanks for your valued comments.

Please share your thoughts with us...

