Have A Dream

Home » Random » Remembering Jackie.

Remembering Jackie.

Love is not possessive.
— 1 Corinthians 13:4 (NAB)

Having taken several wrong turnings and having to ask for directions from some people I met along the way, I finally found the Al Fresco styled seafood restaurant where I made plans to spend an evening. 

As I alight from my car, I could hear a live band performing and a huge crowd inside. Having led to a small table, the next thing that captured my attention and that of many other diners, was the beautiful sunset.

Like most diners, I took the opportunity to capture this beautiful evening with our cellphones. Besides, in view of an unexpected crowd, I was forewarned by the captain that I may have to wait up to an hour before my order is served. So I will have to wait, wait and wait.

Not too long my drink arrived together with some tidbits. The crowd got nosier when the band took a brief break. And when they finally came on stage again, the first number they rendered was Herman’s Hermits, “Listen People” to the hungry crowd. Followed by “My Sentimental Friend.” After which, Shirley joined the band and sang Linda Ronstadt’s “Blue Bayou” ………………….

I feel so bad I got a worried mind
I’m so lonesome all the time
Since I left my baby behind
On Blue Bayou

Saving nickles saving dimes
Working til the sun don’t shine
Looking forward to happier times
On Blue Bayou

I’m coming back someday
Come what may
To Blue Bayou
Where the folks are fine
And the world is mine
On Blue Bayou

Darkness had enveloped the entire place by then. I suddenly remember Jackie. Someone who had been a part of my life for a few years before she finally succumbed to cancer in the mid-nineties. This was also one of her favorite songs and I have the strange feeling of her sitting next to me, happily listening and as usual moving her body in tempo with her favorite song.

We were a very happy couple those days. Initially she took great care of me. And we traveled a fair bit together. Then, when she was diagnosed with cancer, Jackie became a totally different person. Soon she was in and out of the hospital. And after a brief period of fighting with the disease, Jackie, an orphan, was finally laid to rest in peace forever. It was an agonizing thing those days but ……

Where those fishing boats
With their sails afloat
If I could only see
That familiar sunrise
Through sleepy eyes
How happy I’d be

Gonna see my baby again
Gonna be with some of my friends
Maybe I’ll feel better again
On Blue Bayou ………………………………

(Photo – courtesy of: Reflections http://jinjersam.wordpress.com)

“Treasure each other in the recognition that we do not know how long we shall have each other.”
~ Jousha Liebman’

In hindsight, all of us long to be free from our emotional pain and suffering. But, at times, we may have to struggle and struggle very hard in order to understand life, our role, our purpose in it and struggle with so many uncertainties. The sorrow may remain for a season or two, but, wherever love is, love helps us to be free. Because instead of feeling separate from our loved ones, love help us to realize that we are not alone.

May you rest in peace Jackie.


50 Comments

  1. nenskei says:

    I always find sunset as perfectly wonderful view in the world than sunrise, because I have always this thought of mine…… ‘beautiful….. day is over and yet there’s always beautiful tomorrow awaits for us’ … sunset simply reminds me that after a long run..after all the hectic scheds we have … sunset whisper to our hearts: ‘you can have a sweet rest now’😉

  2. I have those moments where a loved one who passed on comes to mind and it feels like they are right there. I’m glad to know someone else has those moments. To Jackie.🙂

  3. jamiegall1930 says:

    Sunsets are my favorite, and this was a beautifully written piece. =)

  4. I lost my mother in law three years ago. I often feel that spontaneous smile come on when I’m in a place or a spot where we used to spend a lot of time together. She was the most thoughtful, giving person I know. I wished my kids could have had her longer. But they remember her fondly.

    • Michael says:

      Thanks for the share. This re-kindled some thoughts on your side as well. Hope the time is appropriate. Just in case ………………. “Happy Valentine’s Day and Blessings.

  5. Inga Hel says:

    John Lennon says in his song Darling boy (Beautiful boy) „ Life is just what happens to you, While your busy making other plans“ and I think that’s how it is.
    It’s no one’s intention, as a child og grown up for that matter, to become ill, mentally or physical, people don‘t intend to end up in a prison, but still this happens. All kinds of things happen to us all.
    If there is one thing I have learned in my lifetime then it is to accept and take what life brings me as a gift I can do something with to better myself. That‘s what you did with this article, you remembered, wrote it down and gave it to the world.
    If you open this link – http://ingahel.blog.is/blog/ingahel/entry/967693 – and scroll down you can find the English version of artwork I made around this sentence.

  6. jinjersam says:

    nice post…
    truly there are struggles in life.. pains, sufferings, grief, all part of the game.. and yes, in the end we tend to realize WE’RE NOT ALONE…

  7. gigoid says:

    Very nice post, Michael…heart-warming & wise. Hopefully, the dinner you had to wait so long for was also worth the wait. But then, it wouldn’t matter much after experiencing the flashback, which would tend to make it all right…take care out there, and thanks for sharing….

    • Michael says:

      Thanks. The dinner was worth the wait. As for Jackie, I still have fond memories of her. Great to have you post such an insight my friend. Regards.

  8. jonesingafter40 says:

    This was lovely.

  9. montysayers says:

    Hi Michael, thanks for sharing that intimate incident from your past, a little sadness detected and I would just like to say that I believe that Jackie’s passing on was just a step into glory. I had a similar experience in 1999 when my son went to be with the Lord after a cycling accident. Still feel him around at times. Anyway my friend be blessed.

  10. This is a very special time you had that you have shared.
    I Thank You for that. I am a firm believe that those we love
    are never far away but always ever present in our hearts.
    A beautiful love story with sweet memories.
    Namaste,
    Isadora

  11. eof737 says:

    This is so beautiful… As I read about Jackie, I started thinking that sometimes those in pain help us understand the true nature of life and how to succumb with dignity after the fight ends… Thank you.

  12. tonycaselli says:

    This was a lovely piece – thanks for sharing.

  13. SweetP says:

    It’s beautiful when you can look back on something that brought sadness into your life and see joy in it. I lost my Dad almost 10 years ago and I still feel tears of joy when I hear stories of him and see him through my children. I’ve also lost my in-laws and again, their memories live happily with us every day. Life and death is something that touches us all, so appreciate each and every day and everyone in your life!

  14. Kris Kennedy says:

    A thoughtful post…genuine and caring…you are right we have to go through things and you did and beautifully wrote about it…thank you

    • Michael says:

      Thanks Kris. You are very kind. Appreciate you visiting and taking the time to comment. Have a great day and Best Regards. !!!

  15. Carrie says:

    Michael –
    What a wonderful and bitter-sweet reflection. It reminded me of my dearest friend, Beth. Our time was shortened by her own early death from cancer. She treasured every bit of life and that attitude was contagious.
    She is no longer near but her spirit often joins me and her friends as we celebrate this treasured life both past and present.
    Our lives are made richer by the people who cross our paths.

    • Michael says:

      Carrie, How wonderful to have you sharing your experience and thoughts with us. Delighted
      to have you participating Carrie. Cheers.!!!

  16. brookesfaces says:

    touching story…so nice photograph with the nice touch of the story..

    • Michael says:

      I am so delighted to have you reading, “Remembering Jackie.” Many thanks for the kind words and thanks for visiting once again. Meanwhile, I am looking forward to welcoming you back soon. God Bless.

  17. WHEREVER love is, yes. Yes, indeed.

  18. Michael says:

    Wow ………………. Bela, those words are very true and real. As always, I am silenced by your wisdom. Have a good day and God Bless.

  19. drangedinaz says:

    This was so very personal and beautiful. Thank you for sharing it with us.

  20. Jane Thorne says:

    Love to you Michael x

  21. gillbrazier says:

    Thank you Michael for your beautiful words. They touched my heart, and have obviously touched many other hearts as well. Memories of loved ones, painful for a season, ease with time. As Tennyson said, ‘Tis better to have lived and lost, than never to have loved at all.’ Best wishes, Gill

  22. Reblogged this on HeartFelt by Andrea and commented:
    A beautiful post about love and life and the things we all take for granted…
    Thank you, Michael, for sharing your heart with all of us.

  23. Kat Tate says:

    Lovely post, thank you for sharing.🙂

  24. What a lovely reflection!

  25. StHaelRazor says:

    The end quote is exactly what I felt when one of my two truest friends passed into the octaves of Light…I vowed to never miss the opportunity to constantly value and keep my heart open to my one true friend who still remains in this world~no matter what. Thank you for sharing your experience…and I am truly sorry for your loss. God Bless you, Michael.

Please share your thoughts with us...

