Have A Dream

Home » Issues » In My Life ……

In My Life ……

What we let into our heart …………………………….. will gradually shape our belief, expectation and action.

In hindsight, I wish I have always made the right choices. But, the sad truth is, I do have my share of painful mistakes. Perhaps, even more than many people.

I dream of feeling peaceful, happy and vibrant all the time. Unfortunately, life hands out stuff we did not choose or did not want. You see, very often, we don’t get a choice. And wish if we could return. Because even small issues, incidents and events have the potential to trip us and send us reeling.

Peace and joy are never found in our circumstances. At times, we think we see them there. But, the truth is, circumstances are like mirrors. It is possible to look at the surface of things around us and see peace, hope, joy reflected. And, we are confused – the reflection with the real thing.

When I was a young boy, I usually spend my nights beside a huge lake with a group of friends. And when we see the moon in the lake, we disturbed the water until the reflection of the moon has been lost. The stress, pain and loss we face are real. And, they can obscure our peace and joy. But, like the reflection of the moon, as long as peace and joy do not live in our circumstances, we may lost the shine but not lost the substance.

We have the capacity to rise above our circumstances or rise to the occasion. But, at times before we can rise, we may feel down ………………. until our inner urge forces us to rise and stay above our circumstances for a while, Then, most probably we get down, but rise above again. The good news is, each time we are down, we are going to stay in that state of mind shorter. Until we become competent in managing those that make us trip or send ud reeling ………………….


46 Comments

  1. terry1954 says:

    making mistakes is how we grow and mature. even though i don’t like making mistakes, i have to since i am human

    • Michael says:

      Hi Terry, Like the expression, “To err is human ……………….” You have a great day and God Bless.

  2. orples says:

    What a beautiful tribute to the Beatles, Michael. I think we all have ups and downs in life. The trick is to try to stay down as briefly as possible, which is sometimes easier said than done. And of course, we can take a lesson out of the serenity prayer if push really comes to shove.

  3. nenskei says:

    ups and downs… life could be equal if we move ‘up – side – down’ .. see, feel and live things with you!

  4. Bella says:

    great post! I love the reality of it all, the grit and pain of falling…and getting up and falling once more but every time shorter. Thanks for posting this.🙂

  5. Always one of my favorite Beatle’s songs..Thanks Michael.

    • Michael says:

      Hi Jake, Thanks for sharing this with us. Another favorite of mine is, “I Should Have Known Better.” Have a pleasant evening !!!

  6. Inga Hel says:

    You are right Michael we do not always have a choice, but the time will come we have to chose, not to change what was to something else but whether we will carry the guilt further or let it go. You see, we don’t have to punish ourselves for ever more, we may let it all go, her and now, but it has to be our decision for us.
    http://ingahel.com/?p=1346 –🙂

  7. I was so pleased when I saw the title of your blog … it bought back memories of a favourite Beatles song I once listened to …. and then … there it was! How chuffed was I?

    My views on the choices we make are complex – I can’t believe that me, the bit of me that lives right now, chose the rubbishy bits, but I have to believe that the other me, the deeper soul part of me, for some unfathomable reason, did make choices for me for this lifetime. I’m going to have words when I get back ‘home’ and can have a discussion about this! In the meantime, I think we have to try and look for the best in our circumstances, I think that is the big lesson, to find the joy and peace in everyday things, to truly feel blessed for the life we have. Not always so easy!

    As always Michael, a beautiful post, thank you.

    • Michael says:

      Thanks for the share. So much truth and depth in your valued comment. Wishing you every success in all your undertakings and God Bless.

  8. Open Up Life says:

    This again a great inspirational post. Yes everyone has had experiences in their life that were not so grand. I chose not to use the word “mistakes” instead learning periods because each one is a lesson for the next step in your journey.
    Thanks for sharing,
    Peace and love
    Tammy

  9. Currie Rose says:

    Thank you for your post! I hear you… sometimes we cannot choose our circumstances, but we can always choose how we relate to our circumstances. Over the past few years, I’ve made some different choices, which made my circumstances not so easy…. and for the most part, I sailed through with flying colors. However, now that the dust has settled and I find myself in a more stable life, I see my body has time to tell me how exhausted that journey made me, and now I get to choose to allow myself to heal as well as learn from the triumphs and “character building” lessons that my choices brought about… which I am finding is allowing me to uncover the person I’ve become as a result of the cirucumstances….Life is an interesting journey, isn’t it?
    Your post reminded me of this quote, “Circumstances do not make the man- they reveal him.” ~ James Allen
    Thanks again.
    Have a lovely day,
    Currie

    • Michael says:

      Hi Currie, Welcome and many thanks for leaving some words behind. Nice to have you sharing your experience with us Currie. Wishing you success in all your undertakings and God Bless.

  10. irenelefort says:

    HIndsight is always 20/20🙂

  11. What a great post..and I needed to read it today of all days.

  12. sheilabmarie says:

    What we let in our heart is just as importants as what we sometimes try to keep out. Because its those things that sometimes cloud the reflection that also bring it to us in new light. Great post Michael.
    Peace and blessings
    SheilaB

  13. Great post – I think pain is the wrecking ball that gets us to joy.

  14. oregonsmiles says:

    Yes there are times from our past that we made the choice of where it got us and other times that where totally out of our control. At the end of these times, it is what made us who we are today. What gets us through those times and to be able to move on past them is all in our Attitude. Our Attitude of how we deal with it…. Forgive, Forget, Laugh, Cry, Love, move on or stay stuck. It is all up to us. Thank you for the reminding us Michael. ~Franny

  15. Life is about ups and downs. To thik that it will always be wonderfully blissful is foolish. Only in having hard time, can we appreiciate the good times.
    Inspiring post, Michael.
    Blessings,
    Isadora

  16. I liked the use of a “mirror” referring to reflection of life.

  17. Confusing the reflection for the real thing is what keeps Hollywood alive(!)
    Excellent post, very thoughtful, tender and personal.
    Appreciated.

    • Michael says:

      Hi Bela, Thanks for the wonderful insight. I agree with you the real thing is what keeps Hollywood alive !!!

Please share your thoughts with us...

