Have A Dream

Home » Random » As I Reflect ……

As I Reflect ……

“Someone told me long ago. There’s a calm before the storm. I know it’s been coming for some time ……

When it’s over so they say
It’ll rain on a sunny day
I know shinning down like water

I want to know
Have you ever seen the rain
I want to know
Have you ever seen the rain
Coming down on a sunny day”

…….. Creedence Clearwater Revival’s “Have You Ever Seen The Rain?” 

It’s been a week since I last published my post, “Hope.” I concluded with; “Time flies, the weekend is here again. I have chosen to make this weekend meaningful, what about you?”

The next morning, a sunny Saturday, after breakfast I changed into something comfortable for the day and made my way to the railway station. To board a train into the city. When the train finally arrived, the commuters were clapping with joy, while waiting for the train to stop and open its doors.

When the train began to move again, an Indian gentleman, in his 40’s offered me his seat. I thanked him and told him to sit instead, as it was okay for me. Soon I arrived at my destination. As I embarked and made my way to the LRT line, I saw pockets of happy people. And by the time I alighted from the LRT, it was around 12.54 pm. The majority of the people I saw, were either in yellow, black, green or white t-shirts. Some were talking. Some praying. Some standing. While some stood together to have their photographs taken and so forth.

I never expected such a huge crowd. It was peaceful and jovial. They came from all walks of life and of various races. There were Gen X’s, Gen Y’s, Gen Z’s and bloomers. The crowd was ready to walk and get as close to the Dataran Merdeka without breaching the law. And when the time comes, 2.00 pm they will sit wherever they are, sing our National Anthem and gather peacefully.

Inspired by the initiatives taken by our youth, I was there to support a cause and went with God in mind, The crowd was disciplined. We sang, chanted and clapped our hands whenever we saw another crowd making their way to join us. I was humbled by the solidarity, goodwill, kindness, respect, civic-consciousness, concern or care shown by the people I met on that day.

I was there to feel the genuine feeling that can never be bought with any amount of money. Like the others, this was the first time I sat on the veranda. Then, stood up, with my chin up and hands by my side, as we sang our National Anthem. Less than twenty minutes after the sit-in had started, I left the crowd and walked away feeling so much better inside and headed home. I left because I had not taken my lunch. Moreover, I did not wish to be caught in a rush when the event ends.

At the LRT station, I was hesitant to board the LRT. I wanted to stay a little longer. But, something got me in and headed back straight. When I arrived home, it was 4.00 pm. I showered. Had my McDonald. Then, surfed and realized that things had turned ugly. I was taken aback and saddened when my friends called and said some felt like ants poured with hot water while some felt like cockroaches sprayed with insecticide when the situation turned unpleasant ……. The last few days I was in no mood to blog. I wanted to catch up on what had happened and I am saddened by the choice of action taken.

“Yesterday and days before
Sun is cold and rain is hard
I know, been that way all the time

‘Til forever, on it goes
Through the circle of fast and slow
I know it can’t stop, I wonder

I want to know
Have you ever seen the rain
I want to know
Have you ever seen the rain
Coming down on a sunny day ……..”


10 Comments

  1. Desiray says:

    Ive heard that saying many times in life and I think what people are trying to say is before a storm is about to take place in their life that there is a sense of calmness in the air….that is what I think who knows.

  2. Hi Michael – Great stuff here. Thanks for sharing so much great information.

    I have a question for you….actually two. I want to “Like” the posts of others, but I’m having difficultly finding the easiest way to do this. I know how to get there on your page, but on many others I don’t see a ‘Like’ button. Any suggestions?

    Also, wordpress notes quite a few of the comments from others as spam; however, they are positive in nature about my blog and uncertain how to confirm they are truly spam or not. Any suggestions?

    • Michael says:

      Hi Kimberly, I think if the “Like” button is not available – you may wish to post a comment. At times, a rating is used.

      As for the second question, you can overide. But suggest that you visit that blog first. If it’s genuine, why not? Have a pleasant evening !!!

  3. bibuji says:

    Recently the sudden rain came on one of my ordinary sunny days. You friends were my umbrella. And yesterday I saw the rainbow.

  4. That’s My FAVE FAVE CCR Tune Of ALL-TIME, Sir.
    In Fact, It’s The Song I Share With My Nephew.
    He’s All Of 9yo, But A Huge Fan Of CCR.
    I Really Enjoyed This Post, Sir.
    Thanks For The Smile🙂
    -BRAD

Please share your thoughts with us...

