Have A Dream

Home » Self-Help » The Big Picture.

The Big Picture.

“On the whole human beings want to be good, but not too good and not good all the time.” ~ George Orwell.

It is very easy for us to lose sight of our purpose and overall intention.

As a matter of fact, the past week alone, there were several occasions where I experienced extreme emotions. It was like my pendulum swung from giving up to staying on, resisting to accepting, from confusion to clarity and to follow the flow.

I wonder how often will we take a step back and try to see the big picture? We react when our values, beliefs, principles and definitions are challenged. We seem to think, what is important to me is important to you too. Otherwise, why are we here doing this, when we are not on the same page?

The truth is when people express their resistance, it is when they perceive a clash of interests. The truth is, we instinctively react to protect our values, don’t we? The big picture is, trust is like a bank account. It is something we need to invest often and withdraw wisely. You see, people resist when trust is low. And, we need to respond appropriately, not by defending. But, by slowing down, show openness, be willing to explain and listen and to engage in more face-to-face contacts.

Be mindful; “Choice, not circumstances, determines your success.”

20120613-163202.jpg


36 Comments

  1. Wayne Augden says:

    Michael,

    This is an excellent post, very wise, and heartfelt. You’re right sometimes we don’t see the big picture. This has inspired me with an idea for a post of my own. As is ever the case, I always take something away when I visit your blog. Have a great day, Michael, and may the Lord bless you beyond measure today. 🙂

    • Michael says:

      It is wonderful to have your goodself visiting Wayne. Appreciate the comments you have so kindly pasted on my posts. Have a great day. It is 9 pm for me. Regards !!!

  2. rumpydog says:

    Excellent advice.

  3. Desiray says:

    One of the things my pastor would tell us all the time when you are in the valley never make any decisions until you are on the horizon…and I have lived by that it might seem strange but it makes sense…amen

  4. It’s great to read your wonderful words again. This is another one of those posts, where I feel as though you’re here reading my mind and counseling me through the rumblings of my brain. I love how you stay so succinct, but manage to maintain the importance and power of your message.

  5. Jeannie says:

    I think sometimes the difficulty also lies in discerning what is ego driven and what is spirit driven as we interact. It’s hard to be on the same page when one is in the ego place, and another is in the spirit.

    • Michael says:

      Thank Jeannie. Great insight to share with us here. I agree with your thought. Keep sharing and warmest wishes !!!

  6. Karmic Diva says:

    trust is like a bank account. …invest often and withdraw wisely. beautiful words and so true.

    • Michael says:

      Our positive actions help us generate trust from others. So we keep building on it and over a period of time, this can help us cushion anything negative that may fall on us. Regards

  7. Ahhh, we are all human, are we not? I always try to remind myself to serve up a fine meld of intellect and emotion. When my emotion is overriding my intellect, I take a breath and remember the choices we make become our lives. Really enjoyed the post, as per normal. Blessings to you!!

  8. teddlangtree says:

    tell me about it … we are made very good … not perfect … lol

    • Michael says:

      Great to have you visiting and commenting. Stay that way and look at the funny side of life. Have a great moment !!!

  9. bibuji says:

    Extreme emotions. 2012 is an extreme year for many people including you, me and our friends. So let’s support us each other with extreme love and brother(sister)hood.

  10. evea192 says:

    Very nice. Some times we tend to run trough life forgetting to stop and look at the big picture around us.

  11. Marty says:

    I love from resistance to acceptance a flow. It is the process we need a little more practice so we do not grab that rope of thought. Remember it is a tug of war with our ego. The ego is always the judgmental one, the one resenting a situation, a person or whatever.

    The ego feels loss and. Anger, justification in holding strong emotions against someone. Wow. That sounds so much like me for most of my life.

    We all have the same emotions and experiencing them in life so why do we think we are an emotion at times. We feel resentment so deep it is all we speak or think about, like the more we engage this judgment the stronger we get.

    I finally have learned to let judgments go and let others disapproval or even anger be their own concern. I can move to the next moment without concern for what someone just judged or disapproved or approved. If we get needy for approval, loss will be a visitor.

    If I do not need approval or disapproval from anyone, I am free to be empty of thought and explore the miracle of now. We waste so much time thinking and know thoughts are air without action. Nothing invisible to everyone else in the world.

    Nice ideas Michael

  12. Marty says:

    No matter how heavy our cross grin and no kne will know, that is midfulness because if we are here it is true.

    Nice to share and be along aboard your journey.

    May the wind always be a t your back ad sunsets glorious each day.

  13. willofheart says:

    this is excellent and powerful post, truly indeed it is the bigger picture, come to think of it it is always the issue of the most…

  14. There is a big message conveyed in this very insightful post.
    It is thought provoking. A good message. Thanks for posting, Michael.

Please share your thoughts with us...

