Have A Dream

Home » Self-Help » Know What You Want.

Know What You Want.

“When I grow up, I want to be a child.”
~ Joseph Heller.

20120618-140741.jpg
I reckon its okay to let our inner child out ……… But definitely not all of the time and not as much as we think.

You see, dreams are nothing without action. The one unequivocal thing that all of us want out of life is, to be happy. That’s it. When we are happy, does it truly matter how much we have? What people will think of us, or what we look like?

The crux of the matter is, when we are happy with who we are and what we have in our life right now, isn’t everything else a bonus?

So dare to dream …….. know what you want and be determined to make it happen !!!

24 Comments

  1. Marty says:

    My question, first of all is, is what is happiness? I bet that answer is difficult to put into words.

    It is not anything impermanent. So it seems judging if we are happy or not is also an issue.

    What happens if we decide our life is extremely unhappy?

    The one thing I have found out, happiness is in present tense, it happens in this moment if it happens at all. I know happiness is not in past thought or future worry but right here during this breath.

    Try being present without thought and see what happiness feels like.

    • Michael says:

      Hey Marty,

      Thank You for visiting and sharing your insight with us. You have a great week and filled with blessings.

      Warmest wishes in all your undertakings.

  2. I wish more people had that thought process Michael..Life is not about material possessions, it’s about attitude. If you want what you have, then you will have what you want. Does that make any sense?

  3. Shared this on my Facebook page. Very lovely. πŸ™‚

  4. Wayne Augden says:

    Michael,

    I love your post. May I add my 2 cents? I think happiness is the result of contentment. Contentment comes from living within and inside the love of God. When we do those things. When we live in obedience to His commands, when we put our trust in Him, and believe that He loves us and cares for us, and have faith that all things are possible with Him, then I think contentment springs forth, and we find ourselves bathing in the waters of happiness. Just a thought. Wayne

    • Michael says:

      Thanks for sharing your insight. I see your point. Very true as well. Contentment eases the pressure in modern day living and last but not least, peace of mind.

  5. EllaDee says:

    I agree, but take your inner child along for the ride, they are smarter than most people think & lack that grown up ego.

    • Michael says:

      Okay. My inner child is always with me. Sometimes you see his tantrums, playing in the playground, swinging his baseball bat and so forth. See you !!!

  6. I like how you remind us that happiness is about reflecting…or living in the NOW. Living in the now is a relatively new concept for me. Also, assessing my Life and MYSELF, without looking to others for their reaction or input is also new for me. I correct myself and check in with myself often. This effort alone, makes me happier because nobody else is interfering πŸ™‚ I just love my daily dose of, Have A Dream. Thanks for visiting LWH today.
    Have a HAPPY day!
    Heidi

    • Michael says:

      Thank You Heidi. You are a wonderful lady. A dedicated educator who keeps striving for excellence. Stay great and stay patient !!!

  7. Ninay says:

    One friend asked me once what my goal in life is. I told her “to be happy”.She said my answer was so vague.She was expecting me to tell her a detailed life plan; dream job, dream wedding etc. I couldn’t understand what made my answer murky well in fact that is what life is all about, to be happy in everything that we do. Just as blogging our thoughts like this, it is true happiness. πŸ™‚

    • Michael says:

      Thanks for the share Ninay. Very true and very well said – TO BE HAPPY. Happy living and keep sharing !!!

  8. bibuji says:

    Happiness is …a feeling like a warm water go spread slowly and gently all over in my heart.

  9. I nominated you for the One Lovely Blog Award. Please visit my blog for details. HUGS, Autumn
    http://autumn-sunshine.net/blogs/

  10. I LOVE Heller’s quote! And then there’s Jesus, saying ye must be as little children to enter the kingdom. Something there, for sure.

    For me, it’s about INTEGRATION. Becoming an adult, parenting myself, parenting my inner child so she doesn’t go overboard πŸ˜‰ Though I do believe most people squash that child, and that, to me, is a crime. It’s taken much of my life to reclaim her, as I suspect Heller figured out.

    • Michael says:

      What a beautiful thought you are expressing here Bela. Very well said and very true. Thanks for the share. You have a pleasant evening !!!

Please share your thoughts with us...

